| INSTRUCTIONS - NO FEE IDAHO BIRTH CERTIFICATE
IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & WELFARE NEEDED FOR ESTABLISHING IDENTIFICATION WITH
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT

Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics

As of July 1, 2022, individuals experiencing homelessness who were born in Idaho can apply for a one-

time waiver of the $16.00 fee for an Idaho birth certificate needed to establish identification with the Idaho
Transportation Department (ITD). To qualify for the waiver, the individual must present a copy of the notarized
verification of homelessness (Relief Agency or Shelter Certification) form 3530 required by ITD for their no-fee
identification program. The ITD form must have been notarized within the last 30 days to qualify for the free
birth certificate. This fee waiver DOES NOT apply for establishing identification in other states or countries.

Summary Instructions:

1. Read all information in this packet before completing the application.

2. The certificate application information may be filled out online and printed or entered by hand. If entering
the information by hand, use blue or black ink and make sure the information is neat and can be read.

Mail the completed application and notarized verification of homelessness to:

IDAHO VITAL RECORDS
PO BOX 83720
BOISE, IDAHO 83720-0036

Who can apply for a free Idaho Birth Certificate?

Individuals born in Idaho who are experiencing homelessness may receive one certified copy of their birth
certificate at no charge for the purpose of establishing identification with the Idaho Transportation Department
(ITD). This program includes minor children born in Idaho to parents experiencing homelessness who are
applying with ITD for state issued identification for their children. The fee waiver does not apply for establishing
identification in other states or countries.

Can | get a free Idaho marriage or divorce certificate?

No, the fee waiver does not apply to certified copies of marriages or divorces. Idaho Vital Records is the only
entity that issues certified copies of Idaho birth certificates required to establish identification with the ldaho
Transportation Department. Certified copies of marriage and divorce certificates are only necessary if the
name you are using now does not match your birth certificate. If you were married or divorced in the State of
Idaho, copies are also available at the county that issued the marriage license or granted the divorce.

How do | get the free copy of the birth certificate?

To order a certified copy of the Idaho birth certificate, fill out the IDAHO VITAL RECORDS CERTIFICATE REQUEST
form. It is at the end of this packet. Carefully review the information on the back of the form to ensure that it
is filled out completely. A photocopy of the notarized verification of homelessness (Relief Agency or Shelter
Certification) form ITD 3530 dated within the last 30 days is required.
Mail the following items to PO BOX 83720, BOISE, ID 83720-0036:

e Completed request form

e Acceptable Identification (see list on the request form) OR completed Notary Acknowledgment Form

* Relief Agency or Shelter Certification form ITD 3530

If all required items are not included, the request for the certificate will be significantly delayed.
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How long will it take to get the free certificate?

Processing times are subject to variation and incomplete orders will be significantly delayed. Applicants can
visit our website at healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/vitalrecords to see current processing times. Normally, you
can anticipate about a two to three-week turnaround time. Requests are processed in the order they are
received in the Bureau. For those who need a quicker turnaround on their application, they may choose to pay
a RUSH fee ($10.00) to expedite the application. These typically have a three to five-day turnaround time. The
RUSH fee cannot be waived if choosing expedited service.

What is the process if | am a parent requesting my child’s Idaho birth certificate for the purpose of
establishing their Idaho state-issued identification?

A parent that is listed on a minor child’s birth certificate may apply for certified copies needed for the ITD
no-fee identification program. To order a certified copy of the Idaho birth certificate, fill out the IDAHO VITAL
RECORDS CERTIFICATE REQUEST form. It is at the end of this packet. Carefully review the information on
the back of the form to ensure that it is filled out completely. A photocopy of the notarized verification of
homelessness (Relief Agency or Shelter Certification) form ITD 3530 signed by the child in the presence of a
notary is required. A photocopy of the parent’s notarized verification of homelessness (Relief Agency or Shelter
Certification) form ITD 3530 dated within the last 30 days, or other acceptable identification of the parent is
required.
Mail the following items to PO BOX 83720, BOISE, ID 83720-0036:

e Completed request form

e Acceptable Identification (see list on the request form) OR completed Notary Acknowledgment Form

* Relief Agency or Shelter Certification form ITD 3530

If all required items are not included, the request for the certificate will be significantly delayed.

I am experiencing homelessness, but | was not born in Idaho. Can | use these forms to apply for a free
birth certificate?

The Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics only has certificates of births that occurred in the
State of Idaho. Please visit https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w/index.htm for a list of other state’s vital records
office contact Information. You will need to contact the state you were born in to see if they have a fee waiver
program.

My free certificate was lost or stolen. Can | apply for another free certificate?

The fee for an Idaho birth certificate may only be waived one time. Subsequent copies will be subject to
normal fees. IDAPA 16.02.08 (251) (06).

Who do | contact if | have more questions?

* healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/vitalrecords for forms and general certificate ordering information.
* ivr@dhw.idaho.gov to email questons to the Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics.
208-334-5980 to contact a vital records customer service representative.
https://itd.idaho.gov/ for information about applying for Idaho identification.
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Reset Form

| IDAHO VITAL RECORDS CERTIFICATE REQUEST FORM

IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & WELFARE BIRTH
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics

!If you are requesting any type of change to the certificate, please use form Idaho Vital Records Certificate Request - Legal Action!
WARNING: False application for a certified copy of a vital record is a felony punishable by Title 39, Chapter 2, Idaho Code.

APPLICANT INFORMATION - ITEMS IN RED" ARE REQUIRED

OO MAIL ORDER TO APPLICANT ADDRESS O MAIL ORDER TO OTHER NAME/ADDRESS
APPLICANT NAME - FIRST* APPLICANT NAME - LAST* MAIL TO NAME - FIRST MAIL TO NAME - LAST
APPLICANT STREET ADDRESS * MAIL TO STREET ADDRESS
APPLICANT CITY* APPLICANT STATE* APPLICANT ZIP CODE* | MAIL TO CITY MAIL TO STATE MAIL TO ZIP CODE
APPLICANT DAYTIME CONTACT PHONE NUMBER* APPLICANT EMAIL ADDRESS*

Sign this request. Include a copy of both sides of applicant’s picture ID with your payment. (See page 2 for ID information)

APPLICANT SIGNATURE*: X

CERTIFICATE INFORMATION (Available from 1911)

Number of Certified Copies (computer generated) Number of Certified Photocopies (exact image)
DATE OF BIRTH CITY OF BIRTH IN IDAHO STATE OF BIRTH

IDAHO
FIRST NAME ON CERTIFICATE MIDDLE NAME ON CERTIFICATE LAST NAME ON CERTIFICATE

OMOTHER OFATHER

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME LAST NAME AT BIRTH

OMOTHER OFATHER

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME LAST NAME AT BIRTH

APPLICANT’S RELATIONSHIP TO THE PERSON NAMED ON THE CERTIFICATE (CHOOSE ONE)

DOCUMENTARY PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP MAY BE REQUIRED FOR THE FOLLOWING:

OSelf OParent OChild OCurrent Spouse OBrother/Sister OGrandchild OMaternal Grandparent OPaternal Grandparent
DOCUMENTARY PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP WILL BE REQUIRED FOR THE FOLLOWING: - Include with order

OAttorney OlLegal Guardian OGovernment Agency OOther (Specify):

PURPOSE FOR ORDERING THE CERTIFICATE (CHOOSE ONE)

OID/Passport OPersonal Records/Use [OSchool/Sports OLegal Purposes OlInsurance/Benefits OFamily History
OEstate Settlement OPending Adoption [OOther (Specify):

ORDER TOTALS

Total number of certificates ordered: at $16.00" each

Need RUSH service? OYES if checked, enclose additional $10.00" and write RUSH on envelope

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE

Mail completed form and payment to:
IDAHO VITAL RECORDS, PO BOX 83720, BOISE, ID 83720-0036

For questions see our website or email IVR@dhw.idaho.gov
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IDAHO VITAL RECORDS CERTIFICATE REQUEST INFORMATION

IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & WELFARE BIRTH
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics

PLEASE READ THIS INFORMATION CAREFULLY. FAILURE TO DO SO COULD CAUSE A SIGNIFICANT DELAY IN PROCESSING.
A letter will be sent if the certificate you order cannot be located. The $16.00 search fee will not be refunded per IDAPA 16.02.08 251 02.

Complete this request form and mail it to: IDAHO VITAL RECORDS, PO BOX 83720, BOISE, ID 83720-0036. Remember to sign your request. Enclose
the correct fees and a copy of both sides of your signed picture ID.

To order online through VitalChek, please see our website at healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/vitalrecords. Additional charges will apply. All credit card
orders are processed through VitalChek.

APPROVED IDENTIFICATION LIST

Current Government Issued OR Two Forms of CURRENT ID - One MUST have a Signature OR
Picture Identification with a
Signature
* Driver’s License e Social Security Card with *  Matricula card with * Notarized signature on the request
* State ID card signature signature (see below)
e Passport e  Work ID card with picture or * Insurance record * Have an immediate family member
e Tribal ID card signature e Auto insurance (that has current ID from the
* Concealed Weapons Permit | «  Auto registration with e Driver Permit approved list) request it for you
e  Prison ID card signature e Paystub (Please note: proof of relationship
»  Traffic ticket with signature *  Hunting/Fishing license may be required)
e Court record with signature * Passport card
*  College/School ID with
picture

If you are unable to provide any of the above approved identification, take this completed form to a Notary Public to complete and
sign below:
This instrument was signed or acknowledged before me in the County of , State of on

by , Date

Printed name of applicant below

Whose identity is either personally known to me or was proven to me through acceptable documentary evidence to be signer below; and they
acknowledge to me that they executed this signature for purpose of obtaining a certificate from the Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health

Statistics.

Applicant Signature: Notary Stamp/Seal

Notary Signature:

Residing at:

My commission expires:

CERTIFICATE FEES

$16.00 for each certified copy or search for a vital record. A Certified Copy is computer generated and is valid for most legal purposes. A Certified
Photocopy is an exact image of the record on file in our office, and is valid for most legal purposes.

RUSH FEES

$10.00 one-time charge to RUSH this order. Write RUSH on the outside of your envelope.

SHIPPING

There is no shipping charge for regular mail delivery via US mail. If you need faster shipping or order tracking, order online through vitalchek.com.
Additional charges will apply. Certificates cannot be sent via email or fax.

PROCESSING TIMES

For current processing times, visit healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/vitalrecords. Most orders take 1-3 weeks to complete once received in our office.
Most RUSH orders take 5-7 days once received in our office. Current workload, staffing levels, missing or incomplete application information, or
unresolved legal issues affecting certificates may impact actual processing times.

SPECIAL HANDLING FEE FOR APOSTILLE

If you want us to send your certificate and completed apostille application to the Idaho Secretary of State, please visit healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/
vitalrecords or call 208-334-5980 for instructions BEFORE sending the $10.00 special handling fee.

Make your SIGNED check or money order payable to ldaho Vital Records. All Vital Records fees may be combined and paid with ONE check or
money order. Please check your total carefully! Overpayments of less than $10.00 are not refunded unless requested in writing.
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NOTARY ACKNOWLEDGMENT

IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & WELFARE
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics

Certificate of Acknowledgment

State of

County of

This instrument was signed or acknowledged before me on / /20
(Day) (Month) (Year)

by,

(printed name of applicant below)

|:| Who is personally known to me
|:| Whose identity was proven to me through acceptable documentary evidence to be signer below

And they acknowledge to me that they executed this signature for purpose of obtaining a certificate for
from the Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics.

(name on certificate)

Applicant’s Signature:

Mailing Address:

City, State, ZIP:

Daytime telephone number:

Notary Public!! You are responsible for positively identifying the applicant. Do not complete the
notarization unless you have verified and are certain of the signer’s identity.

Notary Signature: (Seal)

Residing at:

My commission expires:
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