IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & WELFARE DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics

HOW DO I FILE A COURT DETERMINATION OF PATERNITY?

If an Idaho court has determined paternity for a child born in the state of Idaho, this office requires a completed Idaho Court Certification of Court Determination of Paternity form that has been certified by the court clerk. The information for the child, mother, and father must be completed on the form prior to presenting it to the court. The bottom section of the form must be completed and certified by the court clerk in the county where paternity was determined. The form can be obtained by contacting our office at 208-334-5980 or IVRLA@dhw.idaho.gov, we will mail the form to you.

If a court of another State within the U.S. has determined paternity for a child born in the state of Idaho, this office requires a certified copy of the court order. A certified copy will contain the file date, the original court seal, and original court clerk's signature. The court order must identify the child by name and date of birth. The certified copy of the court order must be accompanied by a sworn statement of one and the same person signed in the presence of a notary public by a parent or legal guardian. This affidavit can be obtained on our website healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/vitalrecords. If you are unable to print the form, please contact our office at 208-334-5980 or IVRLA@dhw.idaho.gov, we will mail the form to you.

If a court of law has determined that the legal father (husband) or another man who is listed as the father is not the biological father of a child, we must receive a certified copy of the court order in order to remove the listed father's information from the birth certificate. The court order must identify the child by name and date of birth. Certified copies of court orders will contain the file date, an original court seal, and original court clerk's signature.

Provide a signed written request to process a court determination of paternity or non-paternity along with current identification of the person who signs the request. Your request will also need to provide the following information:

- · Name of the child as it is currently listed on the birth certificate
- Child's date of birth
- Child's place of birth
- The mother's full maiden name and biological father's full name
- Your relationship to the person(s) named on the certificate
- Your return address
- Your daytime telephone number

There is a \$20.00 legal amendment fee to file a paternity action. The legal amendment fee does not include a certified copy of the certificate. Certified copies of the birth certificate are \$16.00 each. To request the legal action and order certificates, please complete the application included in this packet.

Requests for legal actions are worked in the order they are received. Our response time to your request could take several weeks depending on the volume of requests received.

The Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics does not have a public counter. Please mail your request to our post office box:

VITAL RECORDS P.O. BOX 83720 BOISE, ID 83720-0036



IDAHO VITAL RECORDS LEGAL ACTION REQUEST FORM CERTIFICATE CHANGES AND DELAYED RECORD FILINGS BIRTH

!THIS FORM SHOULD ONLY BE USED FOR REQUESTING A CHANGE TO A CERTIFICATE OR FILING A DELAYED RECORD!

WARNING: False application for a certified copy of a vital record is a felony punishable by Title 39, Chapter 2, Idaho Code.

APPLICANT INFORMATION - ITEMS IN RED* ARE REQUIRED							
☐ MAIL ORDER TO APPLICANT ADDRESS			☐ MAIL ORDER TO OTHER NAME/ADDRESS				
APPLICANT NAME - FIRST* APPLICANT NAME - LAST*			MAIL TO NAME - FIRST		MAIL TO NAME - LAST		
APPLICANT STREET ADDRESS*		MAIL TO STREET ADDRESS		<u>. </u>			
APPLICANT CITY*	APPLICANT STATE	* APPLICANT ZIP CODE*	MAIL TO CITY		MAIL TO STATE	MAIL TO ZIP CODE	
APPLICANT DAYTIME CONTACT PHONE NUMBER*			APPLICANT EMAIL ADDRESS*				
Sign this request. Include a copy of both sides of applicant's picture ID with your payment. (See page 2 for ID information) APPLICANT SIGNATURE*:							
		CERTIFICATE	INFORMATION				
Number of Certified C		 	Number of Certified Photoco		Photocopie	opies (exact image)	
DATE OF BIRTH	DATE OF BIRTH CITY OF B		STATE OF BIRTH		1		
FIRST NAME ON CERTIFICATE		MIDDLE NAME ON CERTIFICATE			CERTIFICATE		
□MOTHER □FATHER							
FIRST NAME	MIDDLE NAME		LAST NAME		LAST NAME AT BIRTH		
□MOTHER □FATHER							
FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME			LAST NAME		LAST NAME AT BIRTH		
APPLICANT'S RELATIONSHIP TO THE PERSON NAMED ON THE CERTIFICATE (CHOOSE ONE)							
DOCUMENTARY PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP MAY BE REQUIRED FOR THE FOLLOWING:							
□Self □Parent □Child □Current Spouse □Brother/Sister □Grandchild □Maternal Grandparent □Paternal Grandparent DOCUMENTARY PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP WILL BE REQUIRED FOR THE FOLLOWING: - Include with order							
□Attorney □Legal Guardian □Government Agency □Other (Specify):							
CHANGE(S) TO THE CERTIFICATE AND ORDER TOTALS							
□Correction** - made within the first year (No Charge) □Correction** - made after the first year \$20.00							
**see back of form to enter correction information							
□Adoption \$20.00 □Surrogacy \$20.00 □Gender Change \$20.00 □Delayed Filing of a Record \$25.00						\$	
Total number of certificates ordered: at \$16.00° each plus change(s) to certificate						\$	
Need RUSH service? □YES if checked, enclose additional \$25.00* and write RUSH on envelope						\$	
TOTAL AMOUNT DUE						\$	

Mail completed form and payment to:

IDAHO VITAL RECORDS, PO BOX 83720, BOISE, ID 83720-0036

For questions see our website or email IVRLA@dhw.idaho.gov



IDAHO VITAL RECORDS LEGAL ACTION REQUEST INFORMATION CERTIFICATE CHANGES AND DELAYED RECORD FILINGS BIRTH

PLEASE READ THIS INFORMATION CAREFULLY. FAILURE TO DO SO COULD CAUSE A SIGNIFICANT DELAY IN PROCESSING.

A letter will be sent if the certificate you order cannot be located. The \$16.00 search fee will not be refunded per IDAPA 16.02.08 251 02.

Complete this request form and mail it to: IDAHO VITAL RECORDS, PO BOX 83720, BOISE, ID 83720. Remember to sign your request. Enclose the correct fees and a copy of both sides of your signed picture ID.

APPROVED IDENTIFICATION LIST

Current Government Issued Picture Identification with a Signature	OR Two Forms of CURRENT ID - One MUST have a Signature	OR		
 Driver's License State ID card Passport Tribal ID card Concealed Weapons Permit Prison ID card 	 Social Security Card with signature Work ID card with picture or signature Auto registration with signature Traffic ticket with signature Court record with signature College/School ID with picture Matricula card with signature Insurance record Auto insurance Driver Permit Pay stub Hunting/Fishing license Passport card 	Notarized signature on the request Have an immediate family member (that has current ID from the approved list) request it for you (Please note: proof of relationship may be required)		

CORRECTION INFORMATION							
	Description of Item on the Certificate	Incorrect Information (as currently shown on the certificate)	Corrected Information (how it should be shown on the certificate)				
EXAMPLE	Mother's Last Name at Birth	Smithe	Smith				
Item #1							
Item #2							
Item #3							
Item #4							
Item #5							

FOR CORRECTIONS ONLY

You will be mailed additional information and forms to make the changes requested. A \$20.00 fee will be charged for changes made more than one year after the event. Previously issued certificates may be exchanged for \$5.00 each within 60 days of a completed correction.

CERTIFICATE FEES

\$16.00 for each certified copy or search for a vital record. A Certified Copy is computer generated and is valid for most legal purposes. A Certified Photocopy is an exact image of the record on file in our office, and is valid for most legal purposes.

LEGAL ACTION RUSH FEES

\$25.00 one-time charge to RUSH this order. Write **RUSH** on the outside of your envelope.

SHIPPING

There is no shipping charge for regular mail delivery via US mail. if you need faster shipping, include a self-addressed prepaid express envelope with your order. Certificates cannot be sent via email or fax.

PROCESSING TIMES

For current processing times, visit healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/vitalrecords. Most orders take 1-3 weeks to complete once received in our office. Most RUSH orders take 5-7 days once received in our office. Current workload, staffing levels, missing or incomplete application information, or unresolved legal issues affecting certificates may impact actual processing times

SPECIAL HANDLING FEE FOR APOSTILLE

If you want us to send your certificate and completed apostille application to the Idaho Secretary of State, please visit healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/vitalrecords or call 208-334-5980 for instructions **BEFORE** sending the \$10.00 special handling fee.

Make your SIGNED check or money order payable to **Idaho Vital Records**. All Vital Records fees may be combined and paid with <u>ONE</u> check or money order. Please check your total carefully! Overpayments of less than \$10.00 are not refunded unless requested in writing.